faithfamilyfearlessness

My life and the world from my eyes

It’s the little things September 29, 2011

Filed under: Inspirational,Life,Random,Thoughts — faithfamilyfearlessness @ 8:12 pm

If I am anything, I am a summer girl.

I love flip flops,

Splashing around in the swimming pool,

Basking in the warm summer rays.

I love the way my skin glows from a natural tan,

I love that I can leave the house with my kids

without the hassle of jackets, hats and gloves.

I love that the sun glows until bedtime,

And rises long before we get up.

But like pretty much everything in life,

Summer is only a season.

A beautiful, glorious time that passes way to quickly.

Normally, this time of year leaves me really bummed out,

I HATE being cold.

So I have decided to cheer myself up with a list of all the little things that make me happy about fall/winter:

1: The crisp smell of fall air

2: The amazing colors of all the trees and bushes

3: Hoodies

4: Bonfires

5: Roasting marshmallows on bonfires

6: Snuggling under the covers with my munchkins and my hubby

7: Hot cocoa

8: The apple orchard, and all the apples and doughnuts that come with it

9: Halloween, and how excited my kids are to dress up every year

10: My son Anthony’s birthday

11: Thanksgiving: food, fun and family time.

12: The way my boys eyes glow every time there is a fresh snow

13: Catching snowflakes on our tongues

14: Christmas (enough said).

15: Warm, fuzzy sweaters

16: Christmas music and how happy it makes me feel inside

17: Eggnog

18: Apple pie, pumpkin pie, any pie.

19: Slipper socks

20: Peppermint ice cream

So there are just a few of the little things that I have to look forward to over the next couple of months.

What are some of your favorite parts of this time of the year?

After all, it’s the little things that make all the difference =]

 

3 Responses to “It’s the little things”

  1. Joel Gratcyk Says:

    Great list! I love Hoodies, Bonfires and Hot cocoa too!

  2. Kim Graham Says:

    Wow .. perfect timing on this topic! I am a summer person too. I’ll take the heat and humidity any day over being cold!! I really dislike winter with its freezing cold temps and short dark days! Ironically, Fall was my favorite season (if I ignore the winter that comes after! LOL) with the changing colors, crisp smell of leaves, all the fields being harvested, etc. Three years ago, our Fall from Aug 8 on was so totally different than ever, ending w/ Andy’s Heavenly Home-going on Oct 2. Now the Fall can be a very bittersweet season, so its VERY GOOD to remember those enjoyable things – Hot Cinnamon-laden Apple Cider, Apple pies, Bonfires, Thanksgiving, leaves, etc

    • You are absolutely right. This time is definitely a season of change, the passing of old things and the beginning of new, shedding our old leaves if you will. Hold on to every savory moment and cherish it. You will be in my prayers during this very bitter-sweet time as you remember the wonderful times that you and Andy and your family shared. Love you Kim, you are so awesome, I hope you always remember that. =]


Leave a Reply

