faithfamilyfearlessness

My life and the world from my eyes

Writtten On My Heart January 9, 2012

Filed under: Blog 365,Family,Inspirational,Life,Marriage,Parenting,Random,Thoughts — faithfamilyfearlessness @ 10:58 pm

There is nothing like being challenged by a man of God.
Tonight I was asked to truly examine myself,
And see who I was,
Who I someday want to be,
And the legacy I want to leave behind.
The mission that Melvin and I have,
Our purpose,
Our vision,
Our goals.
Pretty deep right?
Pastor Lonny never fails to inspire me.
And as I sat there, being challenged on the mark I was leaving on the world,
The legacy I was creating for my children,
Something in my heart began to burn.
I have heard it said many times that if your dreams are completely attainable by you, then your goal is far too small.
I truly believe that.
It hasn’t always stopped me from hindering my own potential,
Because things that are bigger than me,
Well, sometimes they’re a little intimidating.
But still, I dream.
I never stop.
Do you?
Is it so wrong to want the “impossible.”
Is it so wrong to challenge what the world says you or I can do?
Is it so wrong to want to be so much more than they ever imagined we could be?
I think we were designed to push limits;
The desire to question boundaries and hunger for more than whats in front of us is there for a purpose.
But whats MY purpose?
I feel like I have been asked that a lot lately.
On the surface,
I am called me be a Godly Wife.
I am called to be my husbands supporter, ally and partner.
I am called to be A Mother,
Which God keeps making more and more obvious with the babies He continues to bless me with lol.
But what else?
What is my purpose?
I know God has called me to be a writer,
It gives me such fulfillment,
I feel so much passion conveying the things God has laid on my heart.
I want to help the lost,
The downtrodden,
The unloved and the abandoned.
Nothing breaks my heart like hurting children,
Or people without a family or a friend to call their own.
I have this dream of being a clinical social worker.
I want to own a women’s and youth shelter where people can come to talk, for food or aid, for diapers or just a hug.
I want to help people.
I want to make a difference.
I want people who have nothing, to have somewhere because God used me.

Thats only the beginning, only the surface of what God has.
I know for me, my husband and my children,
There are many things I cannot even wrap my mind around.
There are things God has written on my heart,
That I am simply afraid to take for what they are;
His word,
His command,
His mandate.

Today, I’m a wife and a mama,
And for today that is MORE than enough for me.
But I wont let go of the tomorrow God has laid on my heart,
I wont let that dream fade or die.
I know there is so much God has in store for me,
And I honestly cannot wait to see the way it will play out.

What about you?
What dreams do you have?
What are your passions, your vision, your goals?

#Blessings365

Blessing 9: The Future
-I love that tomorrows events are completely unknown; I love that God has given me so much to be excited for, so many dreams to look forward too. I cant wait to see how God will move, but wherever He leads me, I wont stop praying He continues to refine me until I am truly, 100% ready for whatever is ahead

20120109-225144.jpg

 

4 Responses to “Writtten On My Heart”

  1. alyssa Says:

    Almost everytime I read one of your blogs I feel like its something I could have written lol. That has been my dream for years.

  2. Patsy Says:

    I always love your writing! This was again, very inspiring! I am reading “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom, to my children for History…today we read a quote by her that so reminds me of this blog and I wanted to share it with you. “Such memories are the key not to the past, but to the future. I know that the experiences of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.” Corrie ten Boom Isn’t that so awesome?! Especially knowing the horrific things that she endured in her life time. You are exactly correct! He is preparing you and preparing me! I love you, Naomi!!!

    • I LOVE that quote, so powerful! It is always so wonderful to look back and realize the way everything in our lives was for a reason, and was preparing us for something greater. The boys and I watched Joseph (from the makers of The Prince of Egypt), and was explaining to Anthony how everything in Joseph’s life was for a reason that God planned out before he was even born. It was so cool getting talk to him about such an amazing story and him really understanding it. I love you so much! xoxo


Leave a Reply

