faithfamilyfearlessness

My life and the world from my eyes

Kept Promises February 11, 2012

Filed under: Blog 365,Family,Inspirational,Life,Marriage,Parenting,Random,Thoughts — faithfamilyfearlessness @ 7:29 pm

I remember the conversation well.
My oldest sister and I were discussing kids.
My husband and I already had two,
My oldest sister Abigail and her husband were perfectly content with none.
“Someday we will, just not yet.” She would respond politely, whenever someone asked when they were going to start their family.
“Yeah I think I might be just be done with having babies.” I confessed.
She looked at me in disbelief and in a giddy voice bursts “Well if you get pregnant again I will too so we can be pregnant together!”
I smiled, in a “yeah right” kind of way.
We left it at that.
Then about six months later I got pregnant with Devin.
Six weeks after that my older sister Liz got pregnant with her son Damien.
We begged Abigail to keep her promise and have a baby with us, but to no avail.
She said she couldn’t just decide she was ready because we were, which I understood, even though I didn’t quit teasing and begging.
Now here I am, a year and a half later and pregnant again.
And not a word mentioned to my sister about her promise two years ago,
And she surprises us all with her end of the bargain.
My big sister is having a baby, her very first.
I am so thrilled.
So promises were kept, just a little delayed.
Which worked out just fine at the end of it all.
At the end of this year my sisters and I will have seven kids total,
15 grandkids total for my parents.
Its nuts how quickly our families are growing,
And I love every second of it.

20120211-225502.jpg

#Blessings365

Blessing 41: Cousins
-Friends for life, and one of the greatest gifts God gives us.

 

2 Responses to “Kept Promises”

  1. Congrats! How exciting!


Leave a Reply

